Home    |    |    E-maill



Special Offer

8 specialties

Pancha Mahabhuta











Tell A Friend




The knowledge of Life

Ayurveda is a  science.  Is had been develop many centuries ago. It's a well-developed system of medicine and deals with eight major clinical specialties of medicine.

Kaya Chikitsa

(General medicine)

The word Kaya means body. Another meaning of Kaya is Agni (internal fire). Therefore, Kaya Chikitsa means the management of the disorders of internal fire as well as the body. Defining the scope of Kya Chikitsa, Sushruta states that – the branch of Ayurveda which deals with the management of the disease such as Jwara (fever), Raktapitta (Bleeding dyscrasias, Hemophilia, etc.)   Shosha (phthisis), Unmada (mania), Apasmara (epilepsy), Kustha (skin disorders) Prameha (urinary disorders), Atisara (diarrhea) etc, occurring in the whole of the body, is Kaya Chikitsa. The specialties of general medicine, pathology, cardiology, neurology, etc are also included in Kaya Chikitsa.


Shalya Tantra


The word Shalya means everything that bothers the psyche and/or soma. While defining Shalya Tanta Sushruta (Su. 1/8) states that Shalya Tantra − surgery − is the branch of Ayurveda which employs Yantra (blunt surgical instruments and tools) Shastra (sharp surgical instruments) Kshara (caustic bio chemical substances), Agni (cauterization) to extract various types of foreign bodies such as grass, wooden splinters, stones, minute particles, metal pieces, lumps, bones, hairs, nails, pus, exudate, abnormal foetus, etc. as well as the study of Vrna (traumatic wounds including inflammation). Shalya Tantra incorporates the specialty of surgery


Shalakya Tantra

(Diseases of Eye, Ear, Nose & Throat)

The term Shalakya is derived from the term Shalaka, which means a lancet or probe, implying that the branch of Ayurveda employing the usage of lancet and probe for the management of disease is Shalakya Tantra. In a true sense, though, the scope of Shalakya Tantra is much more than this. According to Sushruta, Shalakya Tantra encompasses the management of the clavicle bone. The specialties of ENT and ophthalmology are included in Shalakya Tantra.


(Children diseases, obstetrics and Gynecology)

The literal meaning of the word Kaumarabhritya is the Nurturing of Kumara (Child) but in fact comprises much more. According to Sushruta, Kaumarabhritya is that branch of Ayurveda which deals with the management of Nurturing of Kumara, rectifying the problems of the mother’s breast milk – Dhatri, as well as other diseases of infancy and childhood. Subsequently, the Kumara Bhritya branch has come to encompass specialties of gynecology and obstetrics together with pediatrics.

Agada Tantra


In general the word ‘Gada’ means disease, thereby implying that ‘A-gada’ means without disease, but in particular the word ‘Agad’ stands for ‘Anti-poison’. Sushruta defines Agad Tantra as the branch of Ayurveda which deals with the management of disorders arising out of the bites from snakes, insects, spiders, rats and other vermin, as well as the effects of various venoms and poisons. Agada Tantra incorporates the specialty of toxicology.

Bhuta Vidya


The word Bhuta means that which came into existence, but over the years the word has been used in connection with ghosts and other supernatural beings. Sushruta also states that Bbhuta Vidya is - the branch of Ayurveda which advocates the use of Shanti karma (appeasement rituals), Bali (sacrifice), etc. to rectify the problems arising out of the harmful influence of supernatural entities.
While discussing the manner of influence of these supernatural entities, Sushruta, further states that these entities do not themselves enter into a person but rather, innumerable followers of the particular entity enter the body of a person and accordingly produce signs and symptoms. This discussion brings into sharp focus, the school of thought which equates the concept of Bhuta with that of mental disorders. Thus the specialty of psychiatry is included under Bhuta Vidya.



Chakra defines Rasayana as the measures adopted to achieve the best quality of Dhatus (body tissues). Sushruta defines Rasayana Tantra as that branch of Ayurveda which deals with the measures to check the effects of aging as well as to increase life span and memory. In the process, there may also be results in the improvement of diseases. Rasayana Tantra, therefore, is a specialty essentially dealing with the management of the phenomena of aging (Geriatrics)




The literal meaning of the word ‘Vaji’ is stallion, thereby implying that Vajikarana means the process of metamorphosis of an ordinary man into a stallion − especially in terms of his sexual power. According to Sushruta – Vajikarana Tantra is that branch of Ayurveda which deals with the management of the various disorders of Retas (semen). Broadly speaking, Vajikarana Tantra incorporates the specialty of Andrology and Sexology.

More info:

< 8 specialties >  < Pancha Mahabhuta < Vata >  < PittaKapha > <prakriti >


< Doshas >  < Dhatus >  < Malas > <Agni> < Ama >  < Rasayana >




Copyright @ : Chakrapani Ayurveda Clinic & Research Center India, All rights reserved.